Walking Update

As a couple of my challenges are based on walking, steps etc, I thought I’d do a little update.

In my quest to walk 1,500 miles by my ‘big’ birthday and to help achieve my 10,000 steps a day and close all 3 rings on my AppleWatch each day, I’ve signed myself up to quite a few challenges through an online organisation called Virtual Runner UK.  They have lots of different challenges of varying lengths that you can sign up for, you just need to be able to track your distance and submit your evidence online, then once approved they send you your lovely bling!

Each challenge supports a different charity, so you can either choose a challenge based on a charity you like, the distance you want to complete or if, like me, your a bit of a magpie you can choose one based on the medal you like! I have chosen challenges based on all 3 of these things. These are the medals I have achieved so far.

The challenges vary in length and have a time frame in which you need to complete them, so they are good for making you get up and move, even if you don’t really feel like it, otherwise you may not be able to complete the challenge.  The one I’m most proud of so far, is the ‘I would move 500 miles’ medal which I completed on the 6th May, so I’m on schedule for completing my 1,000 miles by the end of the year (currently at 653 miles for the year to date) and should reach my 1,500 miles target by my birthday.

I’ve also been doing well with closing the rings on my AppleWatch; managing to do this for 82 days straight so far.

I’m not doing quite as well with my 10,000 steps a day; having a desk job makes it difficult to get up and walk around – there’s only so many times a day you can go to the toilet without people thinking there is something wrong with you!

So that’s how I’m doing so far; will update again in a couple of months.

Leave a Reply

